Fuel gauge to fuel tank

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel gauge to fuel tank

I have fitted a fuel gauge to the fuel tank so that I know how much fuel I have without leaving the helm and pulling fuel tank out of the stern locker. I have connected the gauge to a separate power supply, would prefer the gauge connected into the ignition key of the motor.
    A little help in identifying how to connect to the ignition would be very appreciated. I am NOT an electrician even of the most basic type.
    Incidentally it is a 2 stroke 65 hp Suzuki.

Most auto stores sell a test light that has a clip on one end (to connect to negative busbar) and a + probe (looks like a little pointed screwdriver) on the other, for only a few $. Its a very handy tool for basic wiring jobs like this one.

If you get one of those, then look behind the dash, in the wiring harness where they connect to the engine gauges there are usually a couple of unused connectors that have blank plugs in them. Use the test light to find one that is live when the key is turned on and not live when its turned off. Thats where you connect the +ve wire and connect the --ve to the neg busbar.

Comment

Thanks for the info, will certainly try ASAP.

Comment

Sucsesful with that job. Excuse the absence, boat 50 miles from home and I could not drive due to med problems.
        Started the engine for the first time today after 8 months of idle, really speaking this is the end of 3 years not being able to use boat.. I digress, the engine started and ran for a few minutes then cut out. (Admit old fuel) Engine will start but cuts out almosst immidiately. I am hoping that it is down to faulty fuel, iff not, what could be the cause?? Help NEEDED PLEASE!

Comment