'03 DF25 4-stroke - Lower unit won't separate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '03 DF25 4-stroke - Lower unit won't separate

First, I'm a real rookie when it comes to outboards. Can handle most of the DIY maintenance on tractors, vehicles, motorcycles but have no experience with outboards.

With that said, I'm trying to follow my manual on replacing the impeller on my Suzuki DF25 3 cyl 4-stroke. I've got the shift rod uncoupled and removed the six bolts holding the lower unit to the drive shaft housing. But the blasted thing just doesn't want to come loose. I can see the gap between the two pieces moving just a bit when I add some side force to it, but - seeing as how I've never done this before - I'm a little reluctant to just "gorillatize" it.

On reassembly, the manual says to put a light coating of silicone around the lip. Could that be what's holding it (from the last time it was reassembled)?

Do I just need to apply more force? Thoughts, suggestions will be most appreciated.

Thanks, all ..

Regards,
    John

Unfortunately sometimes they can be very difficult removing. If you have removed the 6 lower unit bolts and the shift shaft coupler, then it should drop.
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Suzuki Outboard Parts

Comment

bolt removed?

Did you remove the bolt that holds the little fin. Don't know the name but it helps keep the motor tracking straight, J guess.

Comment

Its called the trim tab, however the bolt should not effect the lower unit dropping. You can remove it and try again, would not hurt.
        Last edited by boats.net; 10-07-2011, 11:06 AM.
        Regards
        Boats.net
        Suzuki Outboard Parts

Comment

Thanks, Boats & Briscoe ..

The trim tab bolt is at the rear of the cavitation plate, well aft of the drive shaft housing so I don't think that's an issue. (Plus, the manual doesn't show it being removed to drop the gear case.)