dt50 problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dt50 problem

G'day, have recently bought a boat with a suzuki dt50 outboard, have successfully got the motor going and attempted inspect the water pump, removed the 6 bolts and the bottom section started to come away easily but only by about an inch and can them feel some resistance, didn't want to force it without knowing whether i would damage it or not. Can someone shed some light on my situation? ta.

Did you disconnect the shift rod?
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Suzuki Outboard Parts

Comment

No, could you enlighten an ignorant ocker and please explain, i am only new to outboard motors. How do I do it?

Comment

look on the front part just above the lower unit you will see a connection

its a rod with either a pin and kotter key or what looks like several nuts joined together depending on your model year.

the big nut in the middle joins both halves so use two wrenches to unscrew them untill it seperates, depending on the position of the lower unit you may need to shift it into gear to get a better angle to break things loose but be sure to shift back to neutral before you fully disconnect it.
        Last edited by keakar; 01-18-2012, 01:51 PM.

Comment

Many thanks keakar for your reply but it doesn't look the way you describe it. After checking out the area you suggested I can only see the rod disappear through the centre of what looks like a large nut (approx 1-1 1/4") with a crimped washer locking the nut place, but there is no way you could one spanner to it let alone two as the access is through an aperture appproximately 3/4" by 3''. I put it in gear to move the rod but cannot see any nuts at all on the rod itself? Does this make any sense to you.

Comment

the rod has threads and its in two parts one on the top and one on the lower unit side, the long nut is threaded so it unscrews from one as it screws farther onto the other with a lock nut on each end (at least on mine).