Suzuki df150 running hot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suzuki df150 running hot

Hi I'm new to the thread and just wanting to ask about my uncles motor and see I I could get some help with it. It's a 2007 suzuki 150 four stroke and the motor runs like a clock when it is above 1200 rpms. When it's under 1200 rpms, the alarm goes off, the motor shakes real bad and we have to kill it. It says its running hot. It doesn't pee and he said it hasn't peed in a long time. He said he got a new water pump last year but after he got it the motor say for a year without being ran. He plans on giving me the motor and I was wanting to see what y'all thought about it. Thanks

If he replaced the pump impeller himself (or even if someone else did it), the impeller may have been installed with the vanes bent in the wrong direction. That would certainly cause the overheat and lack of telltale.
    Mike
    μολὼν λαβέ

Comment

Thanks for replying. So you think that may be why it had to be at 1200 rpms or higher? I figured it might be weak or dry rotted and needs to be replaced

Comment

I wouldn't expect any dry rot after only a year or even two, even if it's not been run. It's not exposed to sun or anything else in the environment. I would definitely pull the lower end and check that impeller. As you reassemble, turn the driveshaft clockwise to flex the impeller blades in the correct direction. You can also blow out the tube on the telltale, or run a wire through it to see that it's not blocked. Some folks don't seem to be able to get a pee stream while running their DF150/175 on the muffs, but I've always gotten a strong stream on my '07 DF150.
        Mike
        μολὼν λαβέ

Comment

buy a genuine maual and look for the bypass/poppet valve location and check that.

Comment