New Engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Engine

What do you all Suzuki 140 owners think of your engine? Problems? Praises? Overall performance? Should I buy one? Thanks

is a great motor, but if your boat is rated for higher HP the next size up even 10 more HP the 150 has the bigger engine block, would get better performance the engine won't need as much rpms to push it

Comment

I have pair of DF 140 my 27' aluminum boat and they have performed flawlessly. I have been running them for 10 years in May, the only parts replaced other than routine maintenance items is one of the tilt switches mounted the engine cowling , it failed do to intrusion of saltwater. Each engine have around 500 hours run time. Fuel consumption is approximately 5 gallons per hour for each engine running at 4000 rpms. I did replace the steel engine holder plug within the first hundred hours of operation and I have had no problem with the engine holder corrosion.

Jim
      Last edited by jHydroman; 01-31-2018, 11:22 PM. Reason: Forgot to mention that my previous boat also has DF 140, four years of operation, never had any problem.

Comment

Just a note re the previous poster’s message by Jim - the corrosion in the engine holder on the 140’s appled to motors built up until 2008, the design was changed after that to address that issue. The steel plug was eliminated.

2009 thru 2012 was basically a gen 2 model and was very reliable. Was in the model DF100/115/140 family that shared the same basic design.

Also, the new Df140A series released in 2012 are 10-15% more fuel efficient that the original versions, and actually are a almost totally redesigned model despite sharing same CC capacity. Side by side you wouldnt recognise them with the cowl off, and they sound quite different too.

The A series are now well into their product lifecycle and we rarely hear of any issues with 2016 and newer versions.

If you have a boat that is well matched, its a great choice.

Comment