Suzuki motors like to run deep?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suzuki motors like to run deep?

Hi to all, I'm new to Suzuki. I have a 2320 Parker with full trans. ( Armstrong bracket) it's a 2005 Parker deep V. That was Parkers first year. The 2006 they moved the 150 gas tank up a foot or two. Boat is ass heavy. Boat came with Yamaha 200 HPDI and over the 10 years I raised the motor 3 holes up. I just repowered with the Suzuki 250 -4 stroke 2015. They mounted the motor all the way down. He we go again moving the motor. But !!!! When I ran her, the RPM are at 5800 at 43 MPH. That is with the motor trimmed. Only trimmed for 1 sec holding the trim button. ( They didn't install a trim gauge) I looked to see where my motor Finns are at WOT and you can see them. Also when running at 30 to 40 mph I can hear the prop when going over a small wave and more so when in the ocean. Speeds under 30 mph the back end of this Parker is dragging. I read forum, I made calls to Suzuki dealers and spoke to mech. I also called Ken at prop goods. They all said Suzuki motors like to run deep. I didn't raise the motor and went with a 4 blade prop. The new LFS4. Ken said drop the pitch to 19. I had the 3x16x20. Now 4x16x19 I have to say Ken nailed it. !!! No more ass dragging!!! I'm at 5900 rpm at 42 mph. I'm up on plane at 4K at 30 mph. With the 3 blade I was 4200 rpm at 25 mph. I'm happy. But !!! The motor is still all the way down. Should I leave it? Should I try moving it?

are you getting rid of 20 pitch by chance?

Comment