smis to sds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• smis to sds

I know from reading your NMEA network info in the sticky thread that you can create your own smis to sds cable. Is it possible to create this cable with a y configuration? One side feeds the nmEA network the other side feeding the new Suzuki SMG4 gauge? That way you could run the new gauge and analog gauges also.

As an IT engineer my guess is no! Tthe gauge will use 2 way communication with the ECU ruling out a Y splitter (conflicting inputs). A less elegant solution that I'm using, so that I can feed SMIS data to my chartplotter & also use SDS diagnostics when required. I've run the SDS output to my helm & have a switch box (4 gang 2 way switch). Normal setting SMIS <> Chartplotter when switched to position 2 SMIS <> SDS port on the side of the helm
    Dave Bradford

Comment

I had this discussion about running the new SMG4 gauge and anaolgue gauges at the same time with my friend who is a Suzuki dealer and master level technician. His initial reaction was twofold-

No it cant be done, and
      why would you possibly want to do it?

But anyway after a bit of bemused discussion.....

We concluded that it may be possible to achieve this by running a separate harness from the analogue plug on the ecu, from there up to the dash, and connecting a second gauge harness there. But to his knowledge, nobody has attempted it, and to be honest, we both wondered why on earth you would really contemplate doing it....

What some people who are new to Suzuki engines dont know, is that the engine’s ecu has 2 outputs via separate connectors - one is the output for standard signals that go to analogue gauges, and the other plug (the SDS plug) is the one that sends digital data that is used by the new SMG4 gauge (and any other NMEA2000 displays) as well as by the Suzuki Diagnostic System for engine servicing activities.