DF90a sluggish acceleration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DF90a sluggish acceleration

Hey folks, I've got a 2014 Suzuki DF90a that I inherited that's not running optimally. It probably sat for a year or more without being winterized. We got it last summer and immediately noticed it's sluggish at lower RPMs. It's mounted on a Pioneer Venture 175. We can cruise it around at low speeds and do alright. But if you go from zero to wide open throttle it just chugs and slloooooowly accelerates. Going from 3000 to 3500 RPMs takes forever, but once it hits 3500 it suddenly gets a burst of power and will start to plane out and does fine from there.

I know that's not a lot of information to go on but I'm new to the boating world. I've replaced the fuel/water separator filter and drained all the old fuel. I've also replaced the internal fuel filter. What are some other things I could look into cleaning/replacing?

Google searches keep pointing to a faulty neutral safety switch or possibly the Idle Air Control valve. Any thoughts on those or other ideas?

Thanks in advance!

The IAC does one thing only, and that is to control the engine at idle speeds, to make it idle smoothly and stable. It has nothing to do with how the engine accelerates or runs at speeds higher than idle etc.

If it was the neutral safety switch, it would prevent the engine revving past about 3000rpm, and no further. It wouldnt suddenly switch off as the boat accelerates and cause a surge of acceleration.

So I would completely discount both of those theories as fanciful.

Something else is happening.

Have you changed basics like spark plugs?

Have you checked to make sure the electrical connections are clean and tight (undo, clean, tighten up, dont just look at them), and that the start battery is in tip top condition?