1987 DT200 No Spark

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1987 DT200 No Spark

Hello to all. This is my first forum so I am not to sure what to do. I have a problem with lack of spark. Went fishing one day parked it. Went out the following week no start. I was a auto mechanic for 40 years and I have the suzuki manual. I checked the stop switch with a meter according to the book appears fine. I have checked all the coils in the magneto with an ohmeter according the tests in the book. I have power at the gray wire to the oil level reset. I havn't checked voltage at the coil outputs on the mag. I will do that next. Does anyone know of a test on the CDI. They show one with a dealer tester but not available. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Rockymet; 09-13-2012, 06:34 PM. Reason: spelling

Usually the CDI's cannot be tested, if so the require specialty equipment.
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Suzuki Outboard Parts

Comment

Your CDI is not the same as the late model 225's so the trick is finding the actual wiring schematic of your engine to see how it works. You might have 2 fuses in plastic holders on the side of your engine...verify they are not blown. Do you have the actual model number of your 200 so I can cross refeence

Comment

DT 200 No Spark

Yes thanks Mod# DT200AELH Thanks for helping

Comment

Suzuki DT150 CDI Test Procedures

Originally posted by Rockymet View Post