2006 DF115 overheat weak pee flow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2006 DF115 overheat weak pee flow

Ok, haven't changed my impeller since I bought new in 2006. I was out last weekend and when at slow (trolling speed) had alarm temp light flash and motor die. Restarted and noticed little to no water (peeing). Brought throttle up started peeing ran fine. Dropped RPM to slow troll again same thing. Anyhow ran around the rest of the day with RPM's up a bit with no issues. Took it out again and paid close attention to my (pee problem) and kept RPM's up no overheating problems. However was scared to troll slow with RPM's low. Did also notice at times pee stream was weak and would idle up a bit and get it flowing good again. Anyhow, ordered Suzuki water pump repair kit, should he here tomorrow. Pulled lower unit tonight and ( I am not experienced) however the impeller does not look "bad". The only signs of wear I see are are on the middle of the bottom of the cups on it, slight wear cracks. Could the impeller be the problem?? Or, am I looking at something else, thermostat? Clog? Thanks in advance.

I would replace it anyway. Hopefully you bought the whole kit, not just the impeller. I have been told that is important. Go to harbor freight and buy a cheap infrared thermometer. When the motor is running on the hose, see if any areas of the motor are heating up, that may help determine if there is a blockage.
    -Shawn

Comment

Those little cracks you saw in the impeller tell you that the rubber has lost its "spring" and flexibility. It is perished. Which means it is no longer doing its job properly.

8 years is a very, very long time for an impeller to last. I change mine every 100 hrs, about every year and a half when the motor gets serviced. I keep the old impeller as an emergency spare.