DF25 Won't Lock into Reverse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DF25 Won't Lock into Reverse

I recently purchased a 2008 DF25 V-twin that the seller told me had an issue with shifting out of reverse. I looked it over and found that it would shift into F and back to N just fine, but shift to R and it woiuld lock into R and be impossible to get back to N. I'm a lifetime mechanic with a lot of experience in such things and felt it would likely be a linkage problem or similar, so bought it.

Well, it's turned out to be not so simple. I've had the lower unit gears apart several times now and replaced the gouged shift cam with no joy. "Very" carefully checked components against the exploded view in the service manual and all are there and in the correct positions.

I should mention, too, that he gave me a box of odds & ends that I just glanced at. When I got home, looked them over and found a shift lever (this is a tiller motor) that's badly scraped on 2 sides - not parallel or inline. Looks like it was dropped and dragged across very coarse concrete - but there is no other damage to the motor - not even a scratch on the paint. Can't figure out how someone managed that.

With the motor in F, the prop will turn freely a few degrees back and forth before taking up the slack in the dog clutch, then locks solidly into F and you can turn the motor over with the prop.

Put it in N and it spins free and clear. Now put it in R and turn the prop and it turns a few degrees back & forth, just as in F, but then if you put pressure on it, you can....uh....pop it ?? over a resistance for a few degrees before it pops back to free turning. It wont turn the motor over - it slips. When it's in "free turn" mode, it shifts out of R just fine. When it's on the resistance, the gearshift is locked solidly and can't be moved.